We’ll build a dependable EC – Jean Mensa

“We will work with the parliament, the political parties and the judiciary, civil society and the media to build an electoral commission that this nation can depend on. Mr. President, we wish to assure all Ghanaians that we will hold ourselves accountable to the laws of Ghana,” she said.

She also offered sincere gratitude to the President for the opportunity to deliver the expectations of the Electoral Commission.

Speaking at the swearing-in, President Akufo-Addo stated the members of the Electoral Commission were carefully selected to occupy the position.

“The four-persons I have sworn in as chairperson, deputy chairpersons and member of the commission are persons I am confident will bring integrity, professionalism and independence and fairness of mind in the discharge of their duties,” the President said.

Other members of the Commission sworn in were Samuel Tettey as deputy Chairperson, Dr. Eric Asare Bossman, also a deputy Chairperson, and Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa as a Member of Commission.

The swearing-in comes after the Supreme Court dismissed an injunction suit by a Ghanaian citizen, Fafali Nyonatorto, who sought to stop the President from appointing a new Electoral Commission Chair.

Charlotte Osei removed

The President on June 28, 2018, dismissed the Chairperson of the Charlotte Osei and her two deputies – Amadu Sulley and Georgina Opoku Amankwa – from office upon the recommendation of a committee set up by the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Akufo. They were dismissed for procurement breaches and in some cases financial malfeasance.

SOURCE: citinewsroom.com