Modrić, Salah and Ronaldo nominated for 2017/18 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

Luka Modrić, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah have been nominated for the 2017/18 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

The winner will be named – along with the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 30 August. The UEFA Europa League Player of the Season will be announced the following day.

The three-man shortlist

Luka Modrić (Real Madrid and Croatia)

A UEFA Champions League winner, a FIFA World Cup runner-up and recipient of the FIFA Golden Ball. Find out more about his season here.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus and Portugal)

A UEFA Champions League winner for a record fifth time and UEFA Champions League top scorer for the sixth campaign running. Find out more about his season here.

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

A UEFA Champions League runner-up and a multiple record breaker in his first term at Liverpool. Find out more about his season here.

The rest of the top ten

4 Antoine Griezmann (Atlético & France) – 72 points

5 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) – 55 points

6 Kylian Mbappé (Paris & France) – 43 points

7 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium) – 28 points

8 Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid & France) – 23 points

9 Eden Hazard (Chelsea & Belgium) – 15 points

10 Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid & Spain) – 12 points


What is the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award?

The award recognises the best players, irrespective of nationality, playing for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season. Players are judged on their performances in all competitions – domestic, continental and international.