Daniel Nii Adjei, Thomas Partey and Christian Atsu nominated for SWAG 2017 Awards

Daniel Nii Adjei, Thomas Partey and Christian Atsu nominated for SWAG 2017 Awards

William Opoku Mensah: Karela United forward heading to Ashantigold SC
Match officials for Aduana-kotoko anounced
Christopher Bonney cancels contract with Ebusua Dwarfs

Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC), Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England) and Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia) as Nominees for the SWAG Footballer of the Year Award.

The statement said, Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak), Amos Frimpong (Kotoko) and Stephen Sarfo (Berekum Chelsea) made up the list for another version of the Footballer of the Year Award designed for players in the Ghana Premier League and FA Cup and other local events competitions.

The statement said, the Association will in the second week of January officially launch the event at a ceremony to announce details of the awards night, which will also coincide with activities of the 50th Anniversary Celebration of SWAG.

Below is the full list of nominees;

  1. Footballer of the Year:

Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC)

Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain)

Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England)

Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia)

  1. Footballer of the Year (LOCAL)

Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak)

Amos Frimpong (Kotoko)

Stephen Sarfo  (B. Chelsea)

  1. Female Footballer of the Year

Priscilla Adubea   (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Priscilla Okyere    (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Ruth Appiah          (LadyStrikers)


  1. Professional Boxer of the Year

Isaac Dogboe

Duke Micah (WBC Int. Bantamweight Champion)

  1. National Team of the Year

Local Black Stars

Black Sticks (female Hockey Team)

Golden Arms  (Armwrestling)

  1. Coach of the Year

Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey

Yussif Abubakar (Aduana)

Carl Pierce    (Weightlifting)

  1. Association President of the Year

Mawuko Afadzinu (Table Tennis)

Herbert Mensah    (Rugby)

Paul Achoe           (Volleyball)

Charles Osei Asibey (Armwrestling)

Evans Yeboah           (Badminton Fed)

Frederick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo)

  1. Most Promising Star of the Year

Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting)

David Abagna (Wa All Stars)

9.Female Club of the Year

Ampem Darkoah Ladies

  1. Male Club of the Year

Aduana Stars  (GPL)

GRA Male Hockey team

  1. Dedication and Valour

George Bankole (Handball)

Ofori Asare (Boxing)

  1. Weightlifter of the Year

Christian Amoah

  1. Discovery of the Year

David Akwei (Weightlifting)

Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestling)

Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers and Black Maidens)

  1. Hockey Player of The Year

Salia Nsalbini

  1. Golfer of the Year

Vincent Torgah

  1. Badminton Player of the Year

Emmanuel Yaw Donkor

Grace Atipaka

  1. Volleyball Player of The Year

Richard Amanor

  1. Special Awards

Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor (Sanford)

Alex Asante (GFA)

Dr. K D Asante

Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum

Dr. Martin Engmann

  1. Para-Athlete of the Year

Charles Narh Teye

Haruna Tahiru (Armwreslting)

  1. Cyclist of the Year- Anthony Boafo Dankwa Boakye
  2. Kickboxer of the Year – Alhassan