Kwesimintsim: Newly elected constituency executives commit to unify party

Samuel Kingsley Quaw – Constituency Chairman

Member of Parliament for Kwesimintsim, Joseph Mensah, and the newly elected New Patriotic Party Constituency Chairman, Samuel Kingsley Quaw together with the Constituency Organiser Charles Akoto Kuffor have sworn to restore peaceful coexistence and loyalty among past executives and party members to the best of their abilities. According to them the recurring intra-political conflicts and legal disputes have created a seemingly distorted characteristic of the NPP in the constituency.

The constituency in recent times prior to the conduct of polls for the various executive positions suffered a legal battle from four members of the party. These members sought an injunction on the conduct of the constituency elections, on the grounds that some names were wrongfully eliminated at the polling station level.

Fortunately the regional election dispute committee were able to resolve the matter out of court.

A peaceful and successful election was conducted last Saturday to elect officers to steer the affairs of the party at the constituency.

A total of 30 candidates contested for the 10 executive positions in the constituency. Out of which Samuel Kingsley Quaw won the Chairmanship position with 174 votes, out of a total 402, Jerry Hanson as 1st Vice Chairman with 182 votes, Quayson –Otoo Moses had 104 to become the 2nd Vice Chairman, Appiah- Kubi Berimah Osei as Secretary with 197 votes and Kwabena Oppong won the Assistant Secretary position with 166 votes.

The Organiser position is being occupied by Charles Akoto Kuffour, who polled 198 votes, Perpetuah Appiah won 184 votes to become the Women Organiser, the Treasurer is Elizabeth Mensah who managed with 171 votes, Thomas Cobbinah is the Youth Organiser after polling 306 votes and finally, the NASARA Coordinator who won 211 votes is Saley Haruna.

Kojo Ennimil Arthur||Ghana